Overcoming A Girl’s Struggle in Cyber Security -- Marie Ramirez


Overcoming A Girl’s Struggle in Cyber Security

Author: Marie Ramirez




Computing, cyber security, engineering, and gaming. These are a few of the things girls want to do just like boys, but are discouraged because there aren’t enough girls represented in those fields. Most computing classes and cyber security camps are usually offered to girls and boys, yet those camps hardly ever have girls enrolled. In 2017, women's share in the U.S. cybersecurity field was 14%...1% of female internet security workers are in senior management positions," according to theconversation.com However girls like myself want to attend the classes that teach computer programming and the cyber security skills yet I find myself wanting to quit after the first day because I do not see other girls. I often see boys are having fun and interacting with each other while girls are left alone with no one to talk with or associate with. Girls are smart and want to participate in computer science fields just as much as boys, sometimes even more. During those lonesome times I become driven even more to show the boys that girls can be good at computer science and cyber security too.




(Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels)


Currently my interest is cyber security. I have been attending several camps to improve on my cyber security skills. At every camp, my initial feeling is pure intimidation. No one knows how nerve racking it is to be the only girl in a cyber camp or class. I tell myself that I am just as smart as all the boys, and I should continue to do what makes me happy. It may seem to girls that sitting in front of a computer all day is boring but it’s not, it’s interesting and challenging. I am currently part of the Cyber Security Club at my school where there are not many girls enrolled. I recently volunteered at a local youth science center. I supported the instructor in a virtual Minecraft class where I was able to inspire girls to take the class even though the majority were boys. My job was to help any girl taking the class feel comfortable and have fun learning about Minecraft. Aside from pursuing a career in cybersecurity, one of my goals is to get more girls involved and find ways to reach out to the female community. The first step is to show girls that it can be done. My message to all the girls who want to quit something because they feel underrepresented as compared to boys is don’t quit, hang in there and find joy in what you like to do. I am not planning to quit cybersecurity any time soon!


(Photo by Christina Morillo on Pexels)



RESOURCES:

Nir Kshetri Professor of Management. "The Lack of Women in Cybersecurity Leaves the Online World at Greater Risk." The Conversation, 13 July 2020, theconversation.com/the-lack-of-women-in-cybersecurity-leaves-the-online-world-at-greater-risk-136654.

"35+ Initiatives to Get More Women in Cybersecurity." Comparitech, 28 Apr. 2020, www.comparitech.com/blog/information-security/women-cybersecurity-initiatives/.

Nir Kshetri Professor of Management. "The Lack of Women in Cybersecurity Leaves the Online World at Greater Risk." The Conversation, 13 July 2020, theconversation.com/the-lack-of-women-in-cybersecurity-leaves-the-online-world-at-greater-risk-136654.